Our History


The University Club is a private club that has been part of the Toronto social scene since before the First World War. Its origins date back to 1906 when a group of recent graduates from the University of Toronto decided that the existing gentlemen’s clubs of the day were too staid for their tastes and they decided to create a club of their own.

As the Club thrived and expanded, it has occupied a number of sites in the centre of Toronto, eventually moving to its current location on University Avenue in 1929. The magnificent club house was designed by the architects Mathers and Haldenby and was built by the firm of Jackson – Lewis, the principals of both firms being Club members. It is generally regarded as one of Canada’s finest neo-classical buildings earning heritage status under the Ontario Heritage Act 1978.

Over the years the Club has acquired an outstanding collection of paintings and drawings by respected Canadian artists. These are on display throughout the club house. Among the collection is at least one original painting by each member of the extended Group of Seven. Many contemporaries of the Group are also represented.

Today, the Club remains a vibrant part of the Toronto scene. Its members, both male and female, are drawn from a broad range of backgrounds representing the business community, the professions and academe. They have access to a varied programme of music and theatrical events, wine tastings, topical speakers and much more. The Club has a fully equipped fitness facility and overnight accommodation for members and guests. In addition, the Club is affiliated with over 300 clubs in Canada and abroad that are available to members when they are travelling.

A complete history of the Club is available in the book, “The University Club of Toronto – Its Life, It’s Times, 1906 – 2006” by Donald Rumball and published by the Club in 2008.